top of page

Travel Approval - FINALLY!

Travel Approval. The two words we've been waiting to hear for MONTHS! It seems unreal that it's finally time to go. And yet here we are, exactly ONE week away from flying to China. What seems more unreal is how it all happened so quickly and the little miracles that brought us to leaving in a week instead of a month like we were anticipating.

Back in February, when we realized that we wouldn't be going to China until late summer, all I could think was, "If we could only go and be back before school starts (August 20), before my mom starts work (August 21), before Beau's trade show (August 20-25), and so we could be in/or home from China to celebrate her birthday (August 15), AND be back in time to be sealed on our anniversary (September 15). That would be perfect." But that also seemed like a lot to ask for.

As we got further into summer, it was looking less and less likely. The first Sunday in July, Beau and I and our two oldest boys fasted and prayed that we would be able to leave the first part of August. I also wrote on the intro of this blog if others would pray for us that we could leave the first part of August. We knew it wasn't likely, but we also knew that fasting and prayer works and that God is aware of our desires. But we also knew that so far in this journey, God had planned everything so perfectly and beautifully that, if not, we would still trust Him and know that there was a reason for us having to go a different time.

Mid-July came and I actually deleted the part in our intro that asked for others to pray for us to go the beginning of August. Because it was basically impossible it was going to happen. Another couple in the adoption process we follow online had just received their travel approval and they weren't leaving until August 15 and we were a week or two behind them, so we figured we wouldn't be leaving until end of August. I was a bit stressed knowing we would be gone during school, that my mom would have to miss work, that Beau couldn't be there for the trade show and also I really wanted to be sealed on our anniversary. But we waited and trusted (although slightly disheartened).

On Friday, July 20, we received an email saying that the Travel Approval process that usually takes 2-3 weeks was now taking 3-4 days and to expect approval to arrive by Monday, July 23. Below that news, it said that if travel approval did come on Monday, we had the option of leaving as soon as August 1. WHAT?! Are you kidding me! I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw it. Leaving August 1 and coming home August 18, the exact dates we had been hoping, praying, and fasting for for months, were now a possibility. We were ecstatic! Travel Approval did come on Monday and we are preparing to head out next week!

You guys, why do I doubt? Why do I not trust?! After everything that has happened in this process, I don't know why I was so shocked that this too was now happening. It was almost too beautiful to believe.

And if you think the miracles are over, think again. Tuesday (yesterday), Beau and I spent all day (literally HOURS!) trying to figure out flights. Since it's only 8 days in advance there wasn't much left and what was left was awful hours and layovers or cost one million dollars (kinda-haha). Our sweet adoption agency was so patient with us as we went back and forth on the options, but nothing was working out quite right. As Beau and I sat in the office frustrated and on the verge of tears, I got up and went into our bedroom closet (my favorite place to pray -mostly because it takes two locked doors my kids have to get through to get to me) and got down on my knees and pleaded that something would happen so that this would work out. I told God I knew that if He could bring us to this point He could get us the flights we needed. We were stuck and we needed Him.

Within 5 minutes after finishing my prayer, a travel agent that works with adopting families called after hours and asked if she could help us. She said she never checks her work email while away from work but felt she should and saw our inquiry and noticed that we were leaving soon and wanted to get us the help we needed. She was an ANGEL and a literal answer to prayer. She found us great flights for so much less than what we thought we were going to have to pay. AND she was the most sweet and sincere person I've ever dealt with on the phone. Prayer answered!

And last but not least, is that we received a schedule of important events and dates while in China. The day our family will take the oath at the U.S. Consulate in Guangzhou that will officially make Naomi our daughter and sister, is August 15, her birthday and the day exactly two years prior that we guided to sign up to go to China for the first time. (If you want to read the whole story, go back to this post.) What a beautiful story of things coming full circle. It took my breath away and tears flowed uncontrollably when I saw the date this final part of this adoption process would take place. Exactly 2 years TO THE DAY! Amazing.

You guys, God is magnificent. He really is. When I received the phone call about our Travel Approval, I was cooking lunch and listening to my Christian playlist and this song, Endless Alleluia by Cory Asbury was playing. Can you believe that even my background music was beautifully tailored for the moment? Well believe it. haha

My favorite verse:

In the moments where You go unnoticed In the ordinary day to day Countless miracles of life around us Point like arrows to Your name

Let our voices rise All creation cries Singing out an endless alleluia From this moment on Join with Heaven's song Singing out an endless alleluia!

Alleluia means God be praised.

God be praised indeed.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page